A 55-year-old man was killed Wednesday evening in a crash in Fort Meade.
According to the Polk County Sheriff’s Office, the two-vehicle crash occurred at 6:15 p.m. on County Road 630 just east of County Road 555.
Authorities believe a tan 2005 Chevrolet pickup truck being driven by a 27-year-old man was traveling eastbound on CR 630 when, for unknown reasons, went into the westbound lane.
The truck hit a white 1996 Dodge Dakota pickup truck being driven by 55-year-old man, which was heading westbound.
When the 55-year-old saw the oncoming truck in his lane, he attempted to brake and avoid the collision but was unable, officials said. He was not wearing a seatbelt, according to officials, and died at the scene.
The other driver and his 24-year-old passenger had to be extricated from their truck.
Both were airlifted to Lakeland Regional Health Medical Center, where they are listed in serious condition.
The investigation is ongoing.
Although it can be tempting to drive without buckling up, Florida law requires everyone to wear a seat belt. Here are a few things you should know about Florida’s seat belt law:
- All passengers under 18 years old must wear a seatbelt or be otherwise restrained by a child car seat.
- All passengers in the front seat must wear a seat belt.
- Children 3 and younger must be secured in a federally approved child-restraint seat.
- Children 4 through 5 must be secured by either a federally approved child restraint seat or safety belt.
- The Driver is responsible for buckling up children.
Unfortunately, even if you are wearing your seatbelt, you can get injured or killed in a car accident. However, by wearing a seatbelt, you are less likely to be severely injured. If you are the victim of a an auto accident in Polk County or the surrounding areas, our Tampa Bay Auto Accident Lawyers at Whittel & Melton can help.
Call us today at 866-608-5529 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation to discuss your rights with us, so we can help you determine if you have a case.